Most drivers know they're supposed to buy insurance if they drive in the state of Connecticut. However, some people still try to game the system, only to learn how expensive it can get for failing to comply with state law. Getting an auto insurance quote for Bristol, CT, and securing the right car insurance will save you from all kinds of hassles down the road. Here's a comprehensive auto insurance guide to help you.
To meet the state's minimum requirements, motorists must carry at least the following auto insurance:
While it's not necessary to carry personal liability or collision and comprehensive coverage in the state, you should consider additional coverage if you own valuable assets. In addition, be aware that the state has repealed its no-fault policy, which opens the door to more outstanding liabilities.
Failure to carry proof of insurance in your vehicle upon request by an officer can lead to a fine of $110 and three months in jail in some cases. Other penalties include officials impounding your vehicle, in which you'll have to pay storage fees until you prove you've enrolled in auto insurance. It's also possible that your license and registration can get suspended.
You can face another fine of $200 with a suspended registration for not providing proof of insurance to Connecticut DMV within 30 days. Additionally, you'll have to pay the DMV to reinstate your registration.
The Connecticut Insurance Department oversees auto insurance premiums in the state. The state permits insurance agencies to charge premiums and offer discounts for the following criteria:
First, you need to make sure you have the right car insurance coverage that fits your needs. It would help if you did not assume that a standard personal auto plan covers everything from towing to using your vehicle for commercial purposes. Most insurance companies require that you purchase extensions to your standard plan to cover towing.
To get all the coverage you need and save money, you should eliminate coverage features you don't need. Then talk with your insurance agent about possible discounts. Even though insurance agencies rarely promote discounts, they still may offer rewards for good driving and minimal driving if you ask. One of the most common ways to cut insurance costs is to bundle different insurance plans together.
Investigate low-cost auto insurance programs offered by the state. Get auto insurance quotes for Bristol, CT from various auto insurers, then compare premiums. You shouldn't aim for the cheapest possible insurance because that might be money down the drain. Those are the kind of policies with minimal coverage and particular conditions.
Another option is to find an insurer in the state that offers usage-based insurance, where the insurer monitors your driving miles and behavior with wireless technology known as telematics. These programs reward drivers for safe driving behavior and document mileage, lowering your insurance rates if you don't drive often.
State laws on auto insurance change over time. Even if these changes get little media coverage, it's still your responsibility to be aware of them. Violating the following new laws can adversely affect your insurance rates:
A recent new federal law requires all new vehicles to include anti-drunk driving technology, as standards will be set by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) by 2024. Vehicles with the latest technology may be available as soon as 2026-2027. The Insurance Institute of Highway Safety suggests this new law may save over 9,400 lives. Another new CT law requires driver education programs to mention driver safety responsibilities related to work zones.
Understanding Connecticut insurance requirements for drivers is essential for choosing the right auto insurance plan. From there, you need to understand the factors that determine insurance costs. Contact our experts at C.V. Mason Insurance Agency to learn more about getting the right car insurance in Connecticut.